Hobart was established in 1803 when the Governor of New South Wales feared the French would colonise Tasmania. Australia's National Trust protects over 90 beautiful Hobart buildings constructed by convicts in the 19th century. Macquarie and Davey Streets in the city centre have 60 of the impressive buildings.
Pendragon Hall is the converted St John the Baptist Church, which was built in 1852. The building has breathtaking architecture, an extensive history and accommodation combining old world charm with modern comfort. It was deconsecrated in 1998 and has since been a home and accommodation.
Despite its spaciousness and ecclesiastical detail, Pendragon Hall is not overpowering. It has enormous stained glass windows, 25 metre ceilings, ecclesiastic friezes, a steeple and tall, lancet-shaped heavy wooden doors and beautiful gardens.
Its spacious open plan has a living room with cosy fireplace, fully equipped kitchen, musical instrument lounge and various sleeping areas. The entertainment system makes the most of the incredible acoustics and thick sandstone walls ensure neighbours aren't disturbed! The Tasmanian Symphony Orchestra has put the acoustics to the test without complaint.
The master bed at one end of the nave is lit by a four-panel stained glass. Under it is the Reredos, which was gifted to the congregation in 1873. Its inspiration was a drawing of the mosaic picture of the Last Supper which formed part of the Reredos in Westminster Abbey.
Pendragon Hall is the ideal place for candlelit dinners. During the day, sunlight through the stained glass windows fills it with a rainbow of colour.
If you can bear to leave this wonderful place, many of Hobart's main attractions are close by.